Do I have to turn my license plate in if I cancel my insurance?
Yes, if you cancel your insurance on your vehicle and it has a current registration. Turn in your license plate to prevent your Driver License from being suspended. If a license plate is surrendered to a Tax Collector office, the information will be transmitted to the Division of Motorist Services to prevent a suspension on the owner’s Driver License. If you would like to keep your license plate, you must maintain the insurance on the vehicle until the purchaser comes into a Tax Collector office and transfers the title into their name. Once the title has been transferred out of the seller’s name the insurance may be cancelled.
How do I mark my title sold (release myself financially)?
Keep the top portion of the Certificate of Title that you are signing over. On back, record the name of person(s) who you are selling to, along with their Driver License number, date, and selling price. Bring to local office to have it recorded.
How early can an individual renew his or her Florida registration?
Your Florida registration can be renewed 3 months prior to the expiration date.
What are the insurance requirements in Florida?
Florida law requires insurance must be issued by a Florida agent with an insurance company licensed to do business in Florida. The law also requires $10,000 Personal Injury Protection and $10,000 Personal Damage Liability be carried as long as you have a valid Florida registration on a vehicle.
What is an electronic title?
An electronic title, or e-title, is proof of ownership for motor vehicle, motorcycle, mobile home, or vessel titles held in an electronic form by the Department. This electronic status gives you the same proof of ownership as a paper title. By maintaining the title electronically, the owner eliminates the possibility of losing the title and protects it from theft.
What is the $225 initial registration fee and why do I have to pay it?
Upon the initial application for registration on a motor vehicle, a $225.00 initial registration fee may be imposed. This fee applies to private automobiles, motor homes, and trucks weighing less than 5,000 pounds.
Section 320.072, Florida Statutes, requires a $225 Initial Registration Fee be collected when the owner does not have a license plate to transfer to a newly acquired vehicle unless they are exempt. If you have a plate to transfer or meet other initial registration fee exemption requirements, you must complete an Initial Registration Fee Exemption Affidavit.
What should I do if I did not receive a renewal notice in the mail?
Every effort is made to ensure a renewal notice is sent to the owner or registrant of all motor vehicles registered in Hernando County. If you did not receive a courtesy reminder notice in the mail, you may go to renew your registration(s):
When will I be charged the late fee on my renewal?
The delinquent registration fee shall be imposed on the 11th day of the month following the renewal month. Example: If a registration expires in February, a delinquent fee will be assessed beginning March 11th.
*Please remember that although the late fee will not be assessed until this date, for law
enforcement purposes, the registration is expired
Where can I find out more about Military Service members and Family Information?
You can go to titlecheck.us.
This site allows you to search for federal vehicle title, salvage and total loss information quickly and affordably with National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) title check reports from Auto Data Direct.
Why did I get a new plate with my renewal this year?
Section 320.06(1) (b), Florida Statutes, requires 10-year replacement of all license plates. Replacement is necessary to ensure visibility for law enforcement purposes.
Why do all my other vehicles expire on my birthday, but my truck registration expires in December?
Florida law requires that all trucks with an empty weigh over 5,000 pounds expire December 31st. The registered owner is also required to declare a gross vehicle weight (GVW). Registration fees are determined by the gross vehicle weight.
Do mobile homes have a title like a car?
Florida is a titling state; therefore, all mobile homes have a title. There will be a title for each half of a double-wide mobile home.
How do I declare a Mobile Home as Real Property?
If you own the land and permanently affix your mobile home, you may declare the mobile home as real property. To declare your mobile home real property, you must obtain a form DR-402 (Declaration of Mobile Home as Real Property) from the Property Appraiser’s office. Once approved, the mobile home is assessed as real property. The property owner must then deliver the approved DR-402 form to the Tax Collector’s office in the county in which the mobile home is physically located for issuance of a real property decal. Real property decals are permanent and have no expiration date. They are transferrable to the purchaser upon the sale of the land and the mobile home as a unit.
The owner of a mobile home that has been declared real property may also permanently retire the mobile home’s certificate of title. There is no fee for retiring the title of a mobile home. However, a real property decal must be issued prior to the title being retired.
Once the title is retired, transfer of ownership is processed as a real estate transaction and is not completed at a Tax Collector’s office. However if the mobile home is sold and separated from the property, a certificate of title must be reinstated for each unit.
If the title is not retired, the sale of the mobile home and property would require two separate transactions. The transfer of ownership of the property would be completed by a regular real estate sale while the sale of the mobile home would require a transfer of title. The transfer of title transaction is processed by the Tax Collector’s office.
Real property owners are responsible for real estate property taxes which are assessed by the Property Appraiser’s office.
I own the land on which my mobile/manufactured home is parked. Do I have to purchase a registration for my mobile/manufactured home each year?
No. Mobile/manufactured homes located on your property may qualify to be taxed as real property. Contact the Property Appraiser's office at (813) 272-6100 for an application for a real property decal. Submit the completed application and mobile home title or registration to the Tax Collector's office for the issuance of a real property decal. Real property decals do not have to be renewed annually as the mobile home & property will be assessed on your annual property tax notice.
If I pay delinquent taxes, does that entitle me to take ownership of the mobile home?
No. If the mobile home has been abandoned, only the park can apply for the title. There are only limited circumstances that would allow an individual to take title to the mobile home.
There is a current registration decal on the mobile home I am purchasing. Do I need to buy a new one?
Yes. Decals are not transferable from owner to owner. Each new owner must purchase their own decal(s).
Why do I get two bills on my mobile home every year?
Florida Statute 320 requires a current registration and decal for each half of a double-wide mobile home. Registrations and decals are renewed each December. Mobile home fees are imposed by length and change every 5 feet. Florida Statutes further state it is the responsibility of the owner to know when taxes are due and what’s owed.