Depending on the nature of disability, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles may issue temporary or permanent placards. Disabled parking spaces are designed to provide physically impaired people with the opportunity to access public or private facilities that they may not have access to otherwise. If you wish to take advantage of these parking spaces, you must display a valid placard on the rear-view mirror of your vehicle.
There is no fee for a permanent parking permit but a valid Florida Driver License/ID card is required.
The placard can be transferred to any vehicle carrying a disabled person. Placards are issued to individuals who meet the standards, NOT to the vehicle.
If anyone improperly utilizes the disabled permit without the disabled person being transported, they can be issued a parking citation with statute fines up to $250.00, plus additional court fees.
How do I apply for a permit?
Complete an application form HSMV 83039, and have it certified by a licensed physician, osteopath, podiatrist, chiropractor, optometrist, a physician who practices medicine in a military medical facility, state hospital or federal prison, advanced registered nurse practitioner or physician assistant.
- The form HSMV 83039 must be accurately completed, including the "Physician/Certifying Practitioner's Statement of Certification" section, verifying the disability.
- A valid Florida Driver License/ID card number is required unless the authorized physician certifies that the applicant's disability is too severe to visit or be transported to an office to obtain a Florida Driver License/ID card.
Mail the application (except for out-of-country visitors) and fee (if applicable) to our main office (do not send mail to the other offices) :
Hernando County Tax Collector
20 North Main Street, Room 112
Brooksville, FL 34601
Temporary placards are valid for up to six months. The fee to obtain a temporary placard is $15.
- If a second temporary parking placard is required within one year of the initial temporary parking placard, there will be no charge.
- If a third temporary parking placard is required inside the one year issuance, a fee of $15 would be required. A new form HSMV 83039 may be required to be signed by your physician.
Parking Permits for Organizations
Permits may be issued to Florida organizations that provide regular transportation services to disabled persons having disabilities that limit or impair their ability to walk or who are legally blind. Parking permits are issued for four years and expire June 30.
License Plates with Wheelchair Symbol
The Sunshine State plate may be issued to a disabled person who owns a vehicle and qualifies for a disabled parking permit. The Disabled Veteran wheelchair plate is issued to a disabled veteran who has a Disabled Veteran license plate and qualifies for a parking permit. Both plates entitle the vehicle to park in any designated disabled parking space.
Florida Recognition of Out-of-State Permits
Florida has an agreement with every state which allows out-of-state permits to be used in Florida. These states also recognize Florida permits along with all Canadian Provinces and Territories except Northwest Territories and Nunavut.
However, you are not allowed to use your out of state permit if you possess a valid Florida Driver License or Florida vehicle registration. The statute requires you to obtain a Florida disabled permit.
Visitors from Out-of-Country
Visitors from other countries who have valid disabled parking permits from their resident country may purchase a temporary permit for $15. This permit is valid for 6 months. They must show the valid out-of-country permit and a passport (or other comparable identification).
This permit cannot be issued through the mail. Original documents and identification may be brought to our Main Office or Spring Hill Branch locations. The documents may be brought in by a family member, friend, or guardian and will be returned.