Board of County Commissioners
20 N. Main St.
Room 263
Brooksville, FL 34601

Phone (352) 754-4000
Fax (352) 754-4477


No results found.

Board of County Commissioners

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Strategic Plan Ordinance Search Budget Information Annual Report Board Meeting & Holiday Schedule Video Archives

The Board of County Commissioners is the chief legislative body in Hernando County. The Board meets the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month at 9 a.m., with the first Tuesday reserved for workshops, as needed. The Board meets in the John Law Ayers room located on the first floor of the Government Center at 20 North Main Street in Brooksville.

The five county commissioners are elected to four-year terms by the voters at large and represent the geographical district in which they reside. The Board approves the budget, adopts local ordinances and resolutions and establishes policies which govern the County and ensure the health, safety and welfare of the citizens.

County Commissioners:

  1. John Mitten, District 1 (Chairman)
  2. Wayne Dukes, District 2 (Second Vice Chairman)
  3. John Allocco, District 3 (Vice Chairman)
  4. Jeff Holcomb, District 4 
  5. Steve Champion, District 5 

Commissioners' duties are specifically delineated in Chapter 125, Florida Statutes. The Board also serves as the Governing Board for the Hernando County Water & Sewer District, which provides water and sewer systems for residents within the unincorporated areas of the County.

Hernando County Government is committed to providing a community of recognized stability and excellence for our citizens by:

  • Managing public business in a responsive and efficient manner
  • Preserving and enhancing public assets
  • Ensuring a safe and healthy community
  • Creating continuous improvement by means of a proactive exchange of ideas within the organization and with our customers